Job Ref: MB/TJ - Permanent - Southampton SO16 - Pay Rate: £11 per hour - Closing Date Ongoing 

Job Overview:

Personal and Social care job for a physically disabled woman who also needs support with her mental health. Job includes help with domestic chores, helping her to get out and about outside the home (Covid depending) and grocery shopping. Also to give emotional support, including listening and reassurance. More information will be supplied at the interview stage.

Client Biography:  

Hey, my name is Melissa, I am 30 years old and live with my best friend and cat Oscar.

I have a passion for Doctor who, have collected every classic story there is and I get excited whenever there is new doctor who on and I drop everything to watch it.

I also love reading and writing fiction, mostly fantasy/sci-fi.

I am mostly a pc gamer, I built her myself, I see her as my baby but I do play on consoles too just not as much. I also Twitch stream which means I live stream myself playing video games and people watch me and the game I am playing online, which is a lot of fun and I hope to build a community around it one day.

When I am out and about, I love clothes shopping, get disappointed when things don’t fit me but a bit of retail therapy can really makes my day when I’m feeling a bit down in the dumps.

I love a night out when the place is accessible and alternative or LGBTQ friendly, problem is not many places are both, not in Southampton anyway.

Sometimes it’s just nice to go out for coffee and chat with whomever I’m with, I’m quite chatty when I come out of my shell but at first, I’ll be a bit shy.

I am a very busy girl sometimes because there are some very big changes in my life going on at the moment, it is important that I get to various appointments and also give me some emotional support when things start to go awry.

Also, sometimes I just need reminding to wind down when I’m in busy mode, I find it hard to get a balance sometimes.

So that’s me I am quite an adventurous girl and I’m always into something new, I’d like to get more active in the near future and just get out and experience new things. I am always trying to stay positive and look ahead.

To be included in public job advert: Yes / No
             (If no this information would be given when an enquiry is made.)

 

Ideal Candidate

Melissa is looking for someone who is punctual, timing is very important as she gets very panicky when her routine is disrupted. Compassionate and a good listener as support for her mental health is vital to her well-being. You also must be LGBTQ friendly as you will understand more when you reach the interview stage. As a bonus she would like someone who is good at hair and beauty, but this isn’t strictly necessary.

She also needs someone who has a full driver’s license and owns a car suitable for transporting a folded wheelchair. She can transfer into passenger seat so the car doesn’t have to be too big.

Preferably would like someone who has some mental health training.

  • Essential Criteria:

Someone who has had the Covid vaccine or willing to have the vaccine.

 

Someone organised

Someone who respects working in another person’s home

Someone who is able to support without taking over

A car driver

Someone who can work under their own initiative

 

 

Type of experience required:

             An Enhanced Disclosure and Barring service (DBS) will be required the cost                    will be met by the employer

        Length of experience required: None training can be given

Full Driving Licence: Yes

Use of Own Car: Yes

Gender: Female

Language: English