Job Ref: AK/LK2 - Permanent - BH18 - Pay Rate: £12-£13 per hour Closing Date: Ongoing 

Personal Care Assistant required for a Physically disabled young man

Pay: 

£12/hr on weekdays (double on bank holidays).

£13/hr on weekends. 

Hours: 

Wednesday: 07:30-20:00

Thursday: 07:30-20:00

 

Additionally, if you are able to work Saturdays (10:00 - 17:00) this would be of benefit as well. 2 sequential Sundays would also be of benefit (10:00 - 17:00). This can be discussed/negotiated

 

Start and end times may vary. We will inform you of this with as much notice as possible. Further information and explanation regarding the working hours can be discussed and negotiated during your interview.

I am a 28 year old man with Spinal Muscular Atrophy, I am very weak and extremely lightweight.  I live with my parents.

I sleep with a ventilator and oxygen during the night (non-invasive)

 

I like to spend a lot of time on my computer and computer related activities

Helping with everything from getting dressed, feeding, medication, washing, toileting, transferring from bed to chair and back, etc.

 

Placing and removing my ventilator and oxygen, clean and store.

 

When you are not actively caring for me, your duties will include helping with light household chores eg. laundry, ironing, vacuuming, taking out the rubbish, tidying around and other such general chores in order to help keep the house in order while his parents are at work. As with every unique household, things are done differently to what you may be used to, so do not worry if you do not know exactly how things should be done., they will be explained, and you must be willing to ask if you are unsure about something.

Essential Requirements: 

being punctual, respectful of mine and my parents' privacy, being able to work without constant supervision, occasionally covering when my other carers are away/ill (as much notice will be given as possible).