Job ref. JW/KMC | Permanent | Wookey BA6 | Rate £15.37 p/h | Closing: 6th July

Introduction
I am a 28-year-old male living with Spinal Muscular Atrophy and use a powered wheelchair. I run my own business and work part time. Alongside this, my main hobby is shooting, aspiring to be a Paralympian. I enjoy swimming, going out for walks and socialise quite a bit in my spare time. I also drive my own vehicle. You will be helping me in all aspects of my life including personal care.

Hours
120 hours avg over a month.
Friday 16:00 to Sunday 20:00 (every other weekend)
Every Monday evening 17:00 to 21:00

Cover maybe required during the weeks to cover sickness and holidays of other staff (mornings and evenings).

Additional hours may come available.

Rate: £15.37ph, 120 hours a month
(£22k per annum)

Duties
List more detail of what the carer will be expected to do. This is where you can also provide more detail about hours if it’s more complex.
E.g. Monday to Friday
7am-9am – Help me get washed and dressed for the day
11am-1pm (3 days a week) – Drive me in to town to various places; library, cinema etc The main part of this job will be to support me in my aspirations in becoming a Paralympic athlete in air-rifle. I am currently training towards a spot on the GB Paralympic squad and attend training camps once a month for 2 days at a time, along with competitions in between. I also train 3 times a week at home in the evenings and at weekends. You will be required to get hands on and stuck in to help me pursue this sport and help me train as well as attend the camps and competitions which are domestic and international so travel will be required of you. The camps are often from a Saturday morning to Sunday afternoon, requiring us to drive up the night before (Friday night) staying in a hotel for 2 nights. The dates are normally known 6 months in advance. The camps are early starts and long days. Whilst helping me with shooting, you will also be responsible for helping with all levels of personal care from showering, toileting, and dressing. I do use a portable hoist for all transfers.

When I am not on camps, I have an extremely busy schedule with work and personal life. So you will also be helping me at home with:

Shooting training 2 to 3 times a week

All personal care

Assist in all preparation, making and cooking of meals throughout the day

Carry out domestic duties within my house including washing, cleaning, and ironing.

Support me on local trips to the supermarket or shops.

Support me in fundamental and daily exercise ranging from stretching, using weights, table tennis and hydrotherapy.

You may have to assist me during the working day with general support requirements. A lot of my work is working from home; however my work location varies and does require travel regularly around the country and abroad so there may also be a requirement for you to travel with me.

Helping me at weekends to go on any social events that I choose to do.

Essential
A full driving license is required and must have own car.

Desired
Previous care experience is advantageous, although I would consider hiring with no experience depending on the individual.

I am looking for someone who works to a high standard, is committed to making a difference, extremely reliable, honest, trustworthy, understanding, able to listen and most importantly able to have fun.

To Apply:
PLEASE INCLUDE JOB REF JW/KMC IN APPLICATION
To apply for this post, please submit your CV to the following: [email protected]

As part of our Information Advice and Guidance Service, Enham Trust supports disabled people to employ their own staff. This vacancy is not a role within Enham Trust but an excellent opportunity to work directly for one of our customers. A right to work check will be undertaken before an any offer of employment. All vacancies may be subject to a DBS (formally CRB) check.