Job Ref: IS/PPH | Permanent | Horton Heath SO50 | Hourly Rate: £10 | Closing Date: 31/03/2020

About the employer:
I am a 24-year-old female with cerebral palsy. I live with my parents in Horton Heath, a twenty-minute drive from Southampton and Winchester. I use crutches and a light weight manual wheelchair to aid in my mobility.
I have a first-class honours degree in History. I volunteer with a number of organisations including the National Trust, The Army Flying Museum and IPSEA. I am thinking about embarking upon post graduate study in the near future.
I am a competitive rugby wheelchair player and also enjoy horse riding and rowing. I am also keen on baking

Hours: Hours negotiable up to 16hrs per week.
Monday and Wednesday 09:00-17:00 with some flexibility around these times.
Tuesday 09:00-21:00 which includes assisting me to an evening session of rugby training, some flexibility around these times occasionally.
Ad hoc work to cover other PA’s holidays, sickness and some weekends. Some weekends would include overnight stays either at my house or when I am away for rugby competition weekends.

Nature of the work:
Working as my PA you will be required to assist and support with medical appointments, physiotherapy, social engagements, sports, hobbies and work commitments. My PA will also need to help to organise me and have good writing and typing skills as they will be required to act as my scribe when I work and study. The support my PA provides me with will enable me to live as independently as possible.
It is essential that you hold a full UK driving licence as the role requires you to drive me and my wheelchair in my adapted car to various places.

Personal care tasks:
My PA will assist me with some aspects of daily personal care, supporting me with dressing, particularly the putting on of shoes, coats, jumpers and gloves. I also require help to brush and put my hair up. I also need my PA to regularly fill up hot water bottles for me. I may require more assistance with my personal care if I am feeling unwell.

Domestic tasks:
My PA will assist me in the preparation and cooking of my meals and domestic duties.

Medical tasks:
Medication at several intervals throughout the day.
Several aids I am required to wear to assist with my medical condition.
I wear an intensive therapy suit for an hour each day which I require support getting in and out of.
I wear leg splints for an hour each day which I will need assistance putting on and off.
I wear FES (functional electrical stimulation) on both of my legs which I need help to apply and remove each day.
My PA will also support to do my physiotherapy exercise program.
I attend regular physiotherapy appointments in Winchester, as well as medical appointments in Southampton, Winchester, Salisbury and Oxford which I require assistance in accessing.

Social support tasks:
I attend rugby training twice a week in Southampton and compete in competitions throughout the year for which I have to travel around the country. I also attend horse riding lessons once a week where I require support to me getting my hat, body brace and chaps on. I will need dropping off and picking up from social and sporting arrangements and assistance with being able to participate in sporting events, the gym and the pool.

Other tasks:
I currently volunteer for a number of organisations. I will require your assistance in accessing the work placements, scribing, typing up work, ensuring my diary is kept up to date and supporting me with any other admin duties that are required of me.
The post holder may be required to perform job relevant duties other than those given in the job description for the post.

The successful candidate will:
• Ideally be female *Sch. 9 s. 1 (1) Equality Act 2010 Applies.
• Be willing to get to know me and my needs.
• Have a clean, full UK driving license and be able to drive an adapted vehicle.
• Have a warm and caring attitude.
• Be friendly, fun and outgoing.
• Be punctual, reliable and trustworthy.
• Be well organised and is able to maintain professional standards and confidentiality.
• Be able to use their own initiative.
• Respect my families’ home environment.
• Be able to work with me to ensure my needs are met.
• Have a basic understanding of how to support people with disabilities or is willing to learn.
• Respond sensitively to the needs of others.
• Be able to speak English clearly.
• Be able to treat people with dignity and respect and adopt a person-centred approach to their support.
• Have good writing skills
• Must have a good level of Education
• The person must be entitled to work in the UK.

Additional information:
There is a small amount of manual handling involved with the position.
Holiday pay and an employment contract will be provided.
All applicants must be willing to undergo an enhanced DBS check.

To Apply: 
Please send a CV and covering letter to [email protected]

As part of our Information Advice and Guidance Service we support disabled people to employ their own staff as Personal Assistants. This vacancy is not a role within Enham Trust but an excellent opportunity to work directly for one of our customers.