Live In Personal Care Assistant – Ref. SCL/BB

Job reference: SCL/BB

Location: Bristol BS16

Closing Date: Tuesday 31st August 2018

Apply

To apply please email your CV with the job reference to [email protected]

The below posts complies with section 7 (2) (b) of the Sex Discrimination Act 1975.

As part of our Information Advice and Guidance Service, Enham Trust supports disabled people to employ their own staff. This vacancy is not a role within Enham Trust but an excellent opportunity to work directly for one of our customers.

Job overview

I am young man who requires assistance with daily living tasks and support at university to live an independent, personal and social life. The job involves support to attend lectures and note taking at university. It would be an advantage if you have an interest in gaming, exploring new places (cities), watching sport and discussing current affairs.

Client biography

My name is Samuel and I am currently 19 years of age. I suffer from Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy- a genetic muscle wasting condition, and I am in a powered wheelchair all the time. I am about to start my second year in BA Geography at UWE Bristol. My family live in South Somerset and I have a younger sister and brother (16 and 12). I would describe myself as a determined and independent individual who enjoys going out with friends, listening to various genres of music and who enjoys gaming. I am very interested in current affairs, especially relating to the environment, and exploring new places.    

Main duties

  • To support me with all daily living tasks, support to attend university, social and general activities.

Personal duties

  • Assist with all aspects of personal care
  • Assist with exercises
  • Provide reassurance on occasions when I am anxious or in low mood
  • Accompany me to medical and health appointments

Domestic duties

  • Assist with shopping and cooking meals
  • Light domestic work to keep my bedroom and bathroom clean and tidy
  • Be prepared to run errands i.e. collecting and carrying items on my behalf

Social duties

  • Accompany me on nights out with friends as well as other social commitments
  • Assistance to use public transport
  • To support me maintain and strengthen my relationships with peers

Ideal candidate

  • An understanding of social care
  • Patience and good communication skills
  • Someone who is really organised  
  • Physically fit, able and healthy as needs to be able to assist me
  • A good sense of humour
  • A calm, relaxed person who can cope in stressful situations
  • A positive and outgoing person who can encourage me to socially interact in sometimes difficult situations and who can cope with the late nights associated with university life!

Essential criteria

  • Enhanced DBS check
  • Legally able to work in the UK
  • Experience in this type of work is preferred but not essential
  • Flexible in terms of when they are on and off duty
  • Fun personality, decent sense of humour and a relaxed attitude
  • Fluent written and spoken English
  • No specified gender but must be comfortable in doing personal care

Apply

To apply please email your CV with the job reference to [email protected]