Donate now
Back

Female Personal Care Assistant - HF/MN

Job reference HF/MN
Contract type Permanent
Location Bournemouth BH3
Hourly rate £9 - £11
Closing Date Friday 21st July 2017

To apply please email a CV to recruitmentdp@enhamtrust.org.uk

I am a young disabled female in my twenties living independently in the Bournemouth (BH3) area.  I have cerebral palsy and use an electric wheelchair.   I require one female personal assistant/carer to expand my existing 24 hour care team who enable me to live my life to the full.  I have full speech and lead a busy and varied life, doing voluntary work in the community, attending committee meetings, public speaking,  going out to the cinema and theatre regularly, shopping, eating out.  At home I enjoy face book, TV and relaxing!  I require support with personal care, and all my daily living and social activities. 

The team of P.A.’s provide care on a rota system.  The 24 hour period is divided into two shifts, a day shift which runs from 8.30 am to 5.30pm and a night shift which runs from 5.30pm to 8.30am the following morning.  Night shifts are sleeping shifts in that once I am in bed the night carer is able to sleep.  Each member of the team also has an on call commitment each week which is paid.   

Pay Rates: 
£9  - £11 per hour depending on when hours worked.

Hours:  
We have a rolling four week rota, the current vacancy is for 36 hours per month on the following days:
Friday dayshifts 8.30- 5.30pm on weeks 2 and 4.  
Wednesday dayshifts 8.30am - 5.30 on weeks 2 and 3.    
Holiday covers both day and night shifts also available.

The applicant will also need to provide on call cover (paid) for around 6 shifts in a month, to include one Saturday dayshift and one Sunday half day shift.     

Ideal Candidates:

  • Very good command of the English language.
  • Previous care experience is preferred but not essential, most important is a friendly, cheerful manner, an understanding nature, reliability and commitment.
  • Experienced and confident driver with full manual gear licence, as I need to be driven out and about.    Also must be over 25 years of age as this is a stipulation of my vehicle insurance.  
  • Must be comfortable with dogs, as I am lucky enough to have an assistance dog!
  • References will be taken up, as well as a DBS (formerly CRB) check, if one is not already available.   
  • Live within Bournemouth/Poole area.

As part of our Information Advice and Guidance Service Enham Trust supports disabled people to employ their own staff. This vacanacy is not a role within Enham Trust but an excellent opporutnity to work directly for one of our customers.

Share this: