Job ref: LR/PPH | Permanent | Plymouth PL3 | Pay Rate £8.21 per hour | Closing date 30/04/20

Job Overview:
Female care assistant for 44 year old woman in Plymouth.

Hours
9 hours daily and 3 nights - Flexible to suit both parties.

Hi I am looking for 3 carers to help me regain a bit of my independence. Unfortunately due to lack of care for the last two years I have been mostly bed bound. My daughter has been my sole carer but due to the worsening of her own conditions this has started to cause a strain on her health.
I use a wheelchair due to my main condition Cerebellar ataxia, and a few other things besides, so it would help to have someone assist me with all aspects of my daily living.

When I am feeling up to it, I like going down to the local shops, or walking into town to do things such as the theatre, cinema, having a coffee and general shopping.

I also have times, where I am not able to move or communicate at all so it is very much a varied job and one to take every moment as you find it, so suitable people for this role will be best to be able to adapt to changing situations.

As much as I’d loved to do a handstand right now unfortunately I can’t weight bear, so I’m fully hoisted with help.
I’m looking for carers who are fun, patient, and try to promote my independence but at the same time respect what I cannot physically do and that this can vary from minute to minute.
I would love some help with normal household tasks.
I would like someone who wouldn’t mind going down to the local shops to fill up on essentials, as well as the big supermarkets every once in a while to do a proper shop.
I have 3 very friendly but young dogs, so it is very important that you are happy and relaxed around them.

I use breathing equipment including a nebulizer, inhalers and cpap machine, which I will sometimes need help with.
I need someone who is competent and comfortable carrying out all aspects of care, who will be respectful and maintain my dignity at all times.

Although experience would be helpful it is not mandatory, I am much more concerned with having a carer who is able to work on their own initiative, observant due to the quick changing nature of my conditions and of course is able to have a good laugh.
My daughter will be able to assist with training in the beginning but we primarily want carers who will be confident to carry out my care on their own, due to my daughter’s deteriorating health.

Unfortunately due to having brittle asthma I can not accept applications from people who smoke or who own cats.

To Apply:
PLEASE INCLUDE JOB REF LR/PPH IN APPLICATION
To apply for this post, please submit a CV, or letter providing your name, tel. number, address & email address, qualifications, employment history to date – including: name of employer, job title, employment start & end date - for up to past 10 years i.e. from 2010 to 2020 and a statement explaining why you are applying for this job.

Please email CV to [email protected]

If successful at interview an enhanced DBS check will take place. (Formerly CRB). Employment is dependent upon a satisfactory enhanced DBS certificate.
You must evidence that you have the right to work in the UK [A current passport showing that you are a British citizen, or that you have the right of abode in the United Kingdom. A document showing that you are a national of a European Economic Area country* or Switzerland].
All interviews will be conducted in Plymouth.

As part of our Information Advice and Guidance Service Enham Trust supports disabled people to employ their own staff. This vacancy is not a role within Enham Trust but an excellent opportunity to work directly for one of our customers.