Job ref. HS/LP | Permanent | Ply mouth PL2 | Rate: £10 per hour | Closing: 13th July

Overview

I’m a Mother living in the PL2 area of Plymouth. I’m looking for a Personal Assistant/s who is able to support me with household duties, access to the community and support with daily tasks for my children. Full Clean driving licence & own car is preferred or may consider non driver in a job share role if you have access to reliable transport. Please note we have one small friendly dog.

 I’m looking for applicants that match these qualities: caring personality, enjoys helping, empathy, organised, good sense of humour, self motivated, trustworthy, multitask, physically fit & patient, especially with cognitive symptoms and ideally willing to learn more about management of medical conditions to support myself & children.

After a probation period, training courses are available, no charge to the Personal Assistant.

Benefits inc: Holiday pay, PA insurance, free on job training available, mileage allowance negotiable, access to carers discounts

Hours: Average 16 hrs flexible p/w or on job share between 2 or 3

Rate: £10.00 per hour

Duties and Responsibilities:

If job share same duties/skills not necessarily required by all PA's

  • Light cooking and cleaning duties
  • To prepare and cook occasional meals for children
  • Personal care, at present minor assistance needed such as support with washing hair & more if having a flare-up inc. dressing, help to move
  • Support out in the community, this includes supporting activities with my children.
  • Prompting Medication etc
  • Typing/computer skills, keeping up with emails
  • Support with online food shop
  • Occasional shopping
  • Support making phone calls, organising paperwork, supporting in attending appointments and meetings, using Google Calendar etc
  • Assisting with isometric physio
  • I’m unable to stand for long as exacerbates symptoms, so outdoors would usually require a manual or powered wheelchair which has assistant control available
  • Any other reasonable task to allow the service user to live independently

 

Essential requirements:

  • Enhanced DBS required. Cost met by employer.
  • References from previous employers
  • Excellent English skills (verbal and written)
  • Legally entitled to work in the U.K
  • Full/clean driving licence if driving as part of job
  • Understanding of confidentiality including confidentiality online.
  • Happy to use smartphone apps/tech to improve employer's care needs/communication

 

Desirable requirements:

  • Experience in health & social care, NVQ 3 in Health and Social Care. Or working towards the qualification
  • Computer Literate, eg good knowledge of Google drive, Microsoft Office or similar
  • Trained in isometric physiotherapy
  • Interest in nutrition due to dietary requirements
  • Experience in either neurological, chronic fatigue, connective tissue disorders or spinal conditions, a similar condition is MS
  • General good health
  • Enjoys baking
  • An interest in arts, crafts and photography, employer would like support to start these hobbies again, digital art/photography being the most accessible.
  • Likes: musical theatre, films and boats. Potential for support on days out and short breaks if you're available.

 

Look forward to hearing from you!

To Apply:
PLEASE INCLUDE JOB REF HS/LP IN APPLICATION
To apply for this post, please submit your CV to the following: [email protected]

As part of our Information Advice and Guidance Service, Enham Trust supports disabled people to employ their own staff. This vacancy is not a role within Enham Trust but an excellent opportunity to work directly for one of our customers. A right to work check will be undertaken before an any offer of employment. All vacancies may be subject to a DBS (formally CRB) check.


This post complies with section 7 (2) (b) of the Sex Discrimination Act 1975.
Proud member of the Disability Confident employer scheme